Assignment 1: Roles, Responsibilities and Relationships in education & training; Equality and Diversity

I hadn’t written an essay in about 2 years, so I found it a little challenging to get into the mindset of how to structure it and approach the assignment question. I found it difficult to narrow my focus initially with the roles and responsibilities, as there were so many to choose from and also a certain amount of overlap, that made it difficult to know where to make the distinction between segments. It was challenging to not fall into the trap of writing too many words on the first part of the assignment and not leaving enough space for the latter points, but in retrospect I fell at this hurdle because I didn’t put as much time into reading for and writing the second part of the assignment, which dealt with relationships with other professionals, and equality and diversity.

The tutor’s comments reflected this, as I needed to expand on how relationships with other professionals might impact on my role as a teacher, as well as why it was important to have these relationships. I have realised as I have progressed through this course that sometimes I need to think about how I’d apply theory in practice, as the tutor commented that to improve the assignment I could have expanded on how I might incorporate equality and diversity into a session. I will take these comments on board, and try and spend equal amounts of time and effort on all parts of assignment in future submissions.

 

Leave a comment